Reviews

/Reviews
Reviews 2019-02-19T13:17:14+00:00


The local foodservice market is vitally important to the Scottish seafood industry and it’s really encouraging to see our fabulous produce being used in such a new and exciting way. Konkana restaurant has a created a real opportunity to combine authentic Indian flavours with some of Scotland’s finest seafood and shellfish.

– Patrick Hughes

Head of Seafood Scotland


Everything here smells amazing. It’s a bit embarrassing when our highly professional waiter comes to clear the table: barely a grain of rice, a drip of sauce, or even a strand of the enticing side salads remains. Service here is intelligent, well informed and on the ball

– Joanna Blythman, Sunday Herald

(October 2018)


My partner chose Mumbai Masala, made with Pollock, its sauce fabulous – powerful and richly spiced with fenugreek and curry leaves yet balanced with sweet mango powder and pomegranate

– Elizabeth Bowman, Bite Magazine

(October 2018)


We loved the chili squid – the tender seafood comes covered in a coating of crushed chili. It goes well with the tangy sauce provided and is a wonderful way to present the dish

– Neil Poonan, Edinburgh Live

(November 2018)


Spoiler alert: the quality of the food is well above your average Indian experience yet casual enough to avoid being dubbed ‘fine dining.’ Reasonably priced meals with a focus on seafood, accompanied by an excellent wine list, make for a delectable evening of well-executed cuisine served in a clean, bright environment

www.edinburghfoody.com

(November 2018)


As soon as the plates hit the table it was instant eye candy and mmmmmm what a smell! So good!

– Food blogger Kris Munro

(November 2018)


Takes the crown when it comes to naan breads. I have never, ever eaten such fabulous naan breads. Their Peshwari naan deserves a gold medal

– Adele Conn, tartanspoon.com

(December 2018)


This restaurant is definitely unique when it comes to the standard design of indian restaurants, with upscale decor and hip ambiance. But the real surprise is the menu, where instead of all stereotypical South Asian delicacies you will find very original and creative dishes, of course with nice Indian touches. Also a perfect place to bring a date.

– Narek Dshkhunyan

(January 2019)


Nice busy restaurant specializing in lobster and crab with an Indian twits which makes it really special. Decor is cool with walls of black and white fishermen from the Indian shores. Food was really delicious and we’ll presented, quite unique in Edinburgh for an Indian Restaurant. The Crab Banjara with mustard flavor was my favorite dish. Also had the Tandoori Quail with mint leaf salad (plain looking but tasty). Service was good and staff spoke fluent English. Not cheap but really nice for a special occasion.

– Sheela Bhosale

(August 2018)


Best food in Edinburgh …This restaurant was by far the highlight of our trip. We had decided to visit here after reading other positive reviews on TripAdvisor and we were amazed. Brilliant service and the best Indian food we have ever had. Hard to find the words to describe how delicious and flavourable the food was. As other reviews say, it is very unique and if you visit anywhere in Edinburgh for food it needs to be here! Compliments to the chef on the best food we have ever tasted (better than Michelin Star restaurants we have eaten in!)

– Beth Louise T

(January 2019)


Perfect start to 2019… The food is v good with decent ambiance and also the food is nice with a great balance is spices the deserts are amazing.

– Nicolacarm

(January 2019)


Stunning Indian seafood. Never eaten anything like it…Brilliant food from start to finish. The prawn starter, in particular, is outstanding.
Would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys not only Indian cuisine, but perfectly cooked seafood. Having eaten at many Edinburgh restaurants over the last 9 years, including several Michelin starred ones, I can safely say this was one of the best I’ve experienced.

– James G

(December 2018)


DON’T MISS THIS DINING EXPERIENCE !
My wife and I finished an amazing meal about 2 hours ago and I felt the need to write this review. We were looking for a seafood place to dine at and I turned to contributors to Trip Advisor. We are staying near the Edinburgh Castle and the unusual combination of Indian seafood cuisine appealed to us. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and the menu was intriguing. We made our reservation and walked to Konkana. It’s an attractive building designed with a modern black and silver that worked very well for us. We settled into our comfortable chairs and admired the interior. We shared the Seekh Kabab Roll appetizer and knew right away we were in for a great dining experience.
For main courses, we decided to order Goan Fish Curry and Prawn Curry and shared our dishes. Our very helpful and friendly waiter mentioned that rice and bread are often served with Indian dishes. Being unfamiliar, we followed his suggestions for lemon rice and garlic naan bread.
Our dishes arrived on plates almost too hot to handle and after enjoying the sights and aromas, began to feast. We had medium spiced curries and the combinations of heat, spices and other flavors made this a very memorable dining experience.
It has only been open since June but the quality and variety of their menu, as well as the reasonable prices, should make it a success.
We had the chance to see the chef and let him know about our feelings.
We felt this to be a very special palce and hope they are successful

– Steven L

(September 2018)


Best Indian food I’ve had in ages
Food far exheeded my expectations- I highly recommend the lobster curry and soft shell crab starter. Staff are friendly and happy to give advice and recommendations. Looking forward to my next visit!

– Elizabeth C

(September 2018)